HIS is represented on national and international committees and other forums. The following is a list of the current HIS members and their involvement in these groups.

Committee | Group | Forum

HIS Representative


International Federation of Infection Control  Elisabeth Ridgway
Royal College of Pathologists: Combined Infection Training Speciality Advisory Committee Training Programme Directors
Royal College of Pathologists: Medical Microbiology & Medical Virology Specialty Advisory Committee Gayti Morris
European Network to Promote Infection Prevention for Patient Safety (EUNETIPS) TBA
Infection Prevention Society: Research and Development Group Chris Settle

Professional Expert Communication Forum: Decontamination of Medical Devices 

Mark Garvey

Public Health England: Standards for Microbiology Investigation Steering Group 

Chris Settle
Department of Health: Human Health Stakeholder Group  Peter Wilson
NHS Improvement: National Standards of Cleanliness  Chris Settle
European Committee in Infection Prevention and Control (EUCIC)  Kay Miller 
Royal College of Physicians: Infection Guideline Review Committee Christine Bates
BSI Committee on CH/216 Chemical Disinfectants and Antiseptics  Karren Staniforth 
TAILOR Horizon 2020 project Elisabeth Ridgway
BSI Committee on EH/3/4 - Microbiological Methods and Water Mike Weinbren
Additional Training Society of ESCMID (TAE)  
Royal College of Pathologists COVID Advisory Group

Chris Settle

AMoRC Clinical Reference Group Lucia Pareja-Cebrian
NHSE & NHSI collaborative working group on PPE Manjula Meda
NQAAP for Medical Microbiology James Price
NHSE/I IPC Education Framework  Eimear Brannigan
TARGET core working group to develop comprehensive guidance on the safe use of ultrasound gel Claire Haill


If you would like to comment regarding the activities of these committees and forums, please email